The Timeline of Jerusalem

1000 B.C. – 0 A.D.

1000 B.C.

Approximately 1000 B.C. King David captures the city Jebus, and makes it the capital of his United Kingdom.

950 B.C.

King Solomon builds the first Temple.

701 B.C.

Sennacherib king of Assyria attacks Jerusalem but failed to capture it.

586 B.C.

Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon conquers Jerusalem and destroys the First Temple.

538 B.C.

Cyrus king of Persia allows the Jewish exiles to return from Babylon.

515 B.C.

Completion of the building of the Second Temple by the Returnees. Ezra and Nehemiah rebuild the city walls.

332 B.C.

Alexander the Great conquers Jerusalem.

63 B.C.

Pompey conquers Jerusalem. Beginning of the Roman period.

37 B.C.

Herod the Great anointed King of Judah enlarges the Temple mount and rebuilds the Temple.

0 A.D. –  1516

27 - 33

Jesus was crucified


The destruction of Jerusalem and the Temple by Titus, the Roman.

132 - 135

The Bar Kokhba revolt. Second Jewish revolt against Rome.


Jerusalem rebuilt by the Emperor Hadrian as a Roman city and named Aelia Capitolina.


Constantine the Great begins construction of the The Church of the Holy Sepulchre.


Jerusalem conquered by the Persians.


Jerusalem was conquered by the Muslim Calif Umar ibn al-Khattab.


The Dome of the Rock built by Abd el-Malik.


Jerusalem conquered by the Crusadersders.


Jerusalem conquered by Saladin.

1516 – Today


Jerusalem captured by the Ottoman Empire.

1538 - 1540

Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent builds the city walls of Jerusalem.


British Mandate period following the British victory over the Turks in World War I.

1948 - 1967

Jerusalem is divided between Israel and Jordan.

1967- Today

After the Six Day War in 1967 Jerusalem reunified under Israeli control.

- Banana grove

- An olive grove

- Mango orchard

- Date orchard

-St. Peter's fish

- Historical site

The Via Dolorosa

Jesus is nailed to the cross

Enter the Church of the Holy Sepulchre and take the steep stairs that appear immediately on your right to the landing above. The nave on the right is a Franciscan chapel where Jesus was nailed to the cross (John 19:17).

Skip to content